Surprises and Standbys: It’s the TV Music for May 13-19

Before we go anywhere, I want to call out the best use of music of the week. It was, appropriately, on my favorite show, Community. Now, this is not a show known for its music, but the full version of the theme song that played over the end of the finale was just too perfect. I will know listen to this song on my iPod, along with my beloved full version of “Robin Sparkles

Also, I’m trying something new: If you’re so inclined, check out these songs on my Spotify playlist. Not every track is available, but the majority are there for your listening pleasure.

Now, the list of songs after the jump.

Girls – This show is becoming my go-to for new music. That said both the songs this week are not, by any means, new, (“Heartbeats” if from 2003, “I Don’t Love Anyone” is from 1996), but still. For me, they’re songs that I wasn’t aware of at the time, and now, in my old age, I can appreciate them. What was the slogan a few years back on NBC? Oh right, “It’s new to you.” That about sums up this week’s picks for me.

The Knife “Heartbeats”

* Oddly, I just talked about the cover of this I love. It’s funny how that happens*

Belle and Sebastian “I Don’t Love Anyone”

How I Met Your Mother – This show always makes good choices when it comes to music, and I loved this choice for the birth of Lily and Marshall’s child. Just perfect.

Cloud Cult “You Were Born”

Bones – Who knew the people at Bones had it in them? Honestly, who knew? Two very solid choices this week that will go onto my iPod. Surprising, but well done.

Y La Bamba “Moral Panic”

Sleeping At Last “From the Ground Up”

Private Practice – The bulk of the music I liked from this season finale came in the middle at the hospital. I didn’t include two songs from the end of the episode because they really didn’t thrill me. But listening to Foy Vance’s song, which played while Amelia holds her baby for the one and only time, my heart breaks a little. Very solid choices that captured the mood of the episode.

Lost in the Trees “Vines”

Release The Sunbird “A New You”

Foy Vance “Be The Song”

Peasant “We’re Not the Same”

Cougar Town – Two episodes, three great songs. My personal fave is the one by Motopony, but all three are very good, very Cougar Town. Here’s hoping their music budget doesn’t get taken away from them with their move to TBS. I rely on Bill Lawrence for my adult alternative.

Motopony “King of Diamonds”

Sarah Jaffe “Clementine”

Moon Taxi “Let’s Go Back”

Suburgatory – Dude, when did Suburgatory up its musical game? For the last few weeks now, they’ve been spot-on. This week was no exception, especially with the choice of Milo Greene. I will say I knew the Lykke Li song from (shame of shame) the Twilight: New Moon soundtrack, but still, it’s a great song, so I’ll pretend I learned about it here instead.

Milo Greene “1957”

Lykke Li “Possibility”

Grey’s Anatomy – Grey’s was unusually slim on music this week, only one song, which played at the end. However, it’s a pretty heartbreaking use as you realize that no one is going to rescue the gang. This song is a nice close to a really great year of music on a show that has been lacking for a few seasons. I hope next year holds the pattern instead of dropping back into the unlistenable abyss.

The Paper Kites “Featherstone”

That’s it folks. And with the end of the TV season nigh, that may be it for a relatively long time. But I’ll try to keep things up to date because I, for one, love learning about new music, and posting this kind of forces me to seek things out.

Till next time,

Mary

Leave a comment