Have Gun, Will Play Music: It’s the musical wrap-up for April 22-28

Another full week, another lengthy post. It’s actually feeling rather gluttonous to have so much good music from TV shows. But, seeing that this is my main means of discovering new music, I’m exceedingly happy. Hopefully, you are too. Enjoy!!

Have Gun, Will Travel – “Blessing and a Curse” – The Good Wife – Immediately after watching this episode of The Good Wife, I spent a long time (too long) looking for this song. It was that good; I had to have it. I find myself really enjoying the indie-country genre these days. Maybe I’m just becoming a hillbilly. I’ll work on losing some teeth so I can complete the picture.

PS, sorry for the external link, but I couldn’t find this anywhere. I searched and searched and this was the best solution. Plus, spotify is kinda awesome, so you should sign up anyway.

Also, just for fun, because I only just discovered them and I like them, have another song:

Have Gun, Will Travel – “Postcards From The Friendly City” 

Generationals – “Say for Certain” – Girls – Last week, I forgot to include music from this new show. But it really does have some good tracks. It’s also a good show, as my reviews can attest. So I recommend checking it out. This track just makes me happy. What can I say? I’m a sucker for a good drum beat.

White Sea – “Overdrawn” – Girls – Another nice choice from this show. If this keeps up, I may forgive Lena Dunham for Tiny Furniture. Maybe.

The Troggs – “With a Girl Like You” – Girls – …because once a week, I’m just going to include something retro.

John Gil – “Packed Our Bags” – Cougar Town – Not my favorite track of the week, but the music on Cougar Town is always good enough to mention. I think I have an intellectual crush on Bill Lawrence. And so this is me favoring him because I like him. Consider me biased.

First Aid Kit – “When I Grow Up” – Private Practice – I have been a fan of First Aid Kit ever since I heard their cover of “Tiger Mountain Song,” originally by the Fleet Foxes.

Imperial Teen – “Don’t Know How You Do It” – Revenge – I included this just because I like Imperial Teen. I assume that’s enough reason because I’m not providing more explanation.

Devendra Banhart – Walilamdzi – Revenge – I think Devendra Banhart is rather hit or miss for me. I mean, I love “Now That I Know,” but more often than not, when I listen to a new track by him, I’m put off. Color me surprised, then, that I really like this song. Kudos to Revenge for finding one I like.

Poor Moon – “Illusion” – Grey’s Anatomy – Out of eight, yes, eight songs that were used on Grey’s this week, I only really loved three. This is the first one, and it reminds me of Andrew Bird, which is always good.

The Naked and Famous – “The Sun” – Grey’s Anatomy – I’ve like all The Naked and Famous songs I’ve heard before, and this is no exception. It’s nice to hear them go a little more sombre. It fit the scene where Arizona tells the intern that her son is going to die. Oh my God, I just got the pun. “Sun” : “son”. Get it. Someone on this show has a stupid sense of humor.

Of Monsters & Men – “Lakehouse” – Grey’s Anatomy – This played over a very strange scene (Weber cheating on his wife with Debbie Allen), but I like the song, so whatever. I’ll just focus on the track and block out all images of the show.

Til next week,
Mary

Leave a comment