“Sha-la-la-la-la-la Kiss the Girl” – It’s the Music of the Week

This was a better week for music than last week, and, oddly enough, it was because of the return of The Little Mermaid and Grey’s Anatomy. Weird, right? But I’ll take it if it means new stuff for me (and you, gentle viewer) to enjoy.

And now, the top music of the week:

Other Lives – “Dust Bowl III” – The Good Wife doesn’t always have music on their episodes, but when they do, it’s often amazing.  This latest episode “Long Way Home” featured this evocative song as Alicia goes back to look at her old house, the house where her kids grew up, where she was a stay-at-home mom, and where her life collapsed because of Peter’s infidelity.  The music choice really captured the mixed emotions that Alicia feels, and, plus side, it’s also a great standalone song.  I’m not usually a fan of country music, but maybe I have to start getting behind alternative country.  We’ll see.

 

Florence + The Machine – “Shake It Out” – Now, I have been a fan of Florence + The Machine ever since “The Dog Days Are Over” was featured on the third series of Skins (UK) way back in March ’09.  It made me quite happy when she started to become big in the US, but also, it meant that her music got really, annoyingly overplayed.  That is sort of the case of “Shake It Out” which has been featured on both Smash this week in the episode “Chemistry” and also on How I Met Your Mother in the episode “No Pressure” from a few weeks ago.  I’ll say right now that the usage on HIMYM was much better, but I’ll take this week as an excuse to post the song.  Katherine McPhee’s version wasn’t so bad, but I cringed more than a little when the 13 year olds started to shake their hands above their heads every time the chorus started.  I hope that’s not actually a thing people do because if it is, that makes me sad.  And on that depressing note, enjoy the song.

 

Also, just for fun, here’s the remix, which is only out in the UK.  They used it on Skins this last series.

 

The Naked and The Famous – “No Way”Grey’s Anatomy used to be an awesome place to find music, but then either my tastes changed (always possible) or they decided to become way more emo than I was willing to listen to (also possible).  Either way, the show has recently gotten back into a groove and this week, with “One Step Too Far” is no exception.  There were actually a couple of songs worth talking about including one from the end of the ep by Zola Jesus and another random one in the middle by Grafitti 6.  However, I liked The Naked and The Famous the best.  This band had one of the great music moments last year on the proposal episode of Chuck (“Chuck versus the Push Mix”) with their song “Young Blood” and their songs seem to be perfect for TV shows.  So, nice going, guys.

 

Also, here’s “Young Blood” in case you missed it last year.

 

Finally, I couldn’t find The Worthless Peons (aka The Blanks) singing it, but here’s the original “Kiss the Girls” from “One Story Town,” this week’s episode of Cougar Town.  I’m going to rave about the show in my weekly review, but I also want to highlight the music.  Gotta love it when the music of your youth appears on your favorite show.

 

See you next week,
Mary

Leave a comment