February 26 – March 3: TV Week in Review

“Issue number one is the first issue that we are going to talk about”

Parks and Recreation:
The past few episodes of Parks and Rec have been good, but not stellar. (See: “Bowling for Votes” “Operation Ann” or “Sweet Sixteen”) The problem is that I think I’ve come to expect perhaps too much from the show, which often means that I’m slightly disappointed.  But then an episode like “Campaign Shake-Up” comes along, and I realize that my high expectations are not unfounded.  The show and its writers honestly have the ability to produce awesome television.  Besides some nit-picky things that I will get to later, this episode was a nearly perfect half hour.

Part of what I love about this show, and something that I think sets it above The Office, Greg Daniels’s other show, is the fact that the writers have created an entire, complex and detailed world.  Pawnee is its own defined community in the same way that Springfield is on The Simpsons or Stars Hollow is on Gilmore Girls. And the people that inhabit Pawnee are a wonderful cast of characters that the writers of the show can call on whenever they want/need to.  Take, for example, one of the my favorites, Perd (Perdrick L.) Hapley, who has some of the best lines of the show, period. He disappears for a few episodes, then comes back when the story needs him. (He even gets a new show here. Apparently he not only has the morning show “Ya Heard with Perd” but also the Sunday political show “The Last Word with Perd”).  What I love about this particular Pawnee resident is that Perd Hapley has the quirk of using too many words to say something simple that I just love, like “Let’s begin this show by starting it” or “There you have it, where ‘it’ is the thing Leslie Knope just said about the situation.” Hilarious! I can’t get enough of him, and his presence on this episode set it instantly above some of the recent others.

But let’s leave Perd on the side for a little bit and talk about the rest of the episode.  In what I feel like may be the structure of things for the episodes leading up to Leslie’s election, the episode was divided into the campaign in one storyline and the Parks and Rec office in the other.

On the campaign trail, Ben is steadily raising Leslie’s position in the polls, so much so that Bobby Newport (the absent Paul Rudd) decides to hire a Washington shark to help his run.  Enter Jennifer Barkley, played by Kathryn Hahn of the short-lived Free Agents, who throws a wrench in Ben’s plans to court the senior vote. (Also, let’s mention that the senior vote depends on the support of Ned Jones, played by Carl Reiner, who I hope reappears this season)  Jennifer’s character was great in how she really off-set everything that Leslie had going for her.  I don’t think we’ve seen Leslie come up against a strong woman like this yet, and it presents an excellent character study in contrasts.  On the one hand, both women are smart, strong-willed and determined.  But the great thing about Leslie has always been her values and her optimism, so its interesting to see her come up against Jennifer who is so mercenary that she’s willing to lie and cheat for a candidate that she doesn’t even believe in.  It makes Leslie that much more appealing, and you really get behind her, even when she’s hitting roadblocks at each turn. In fact, part of me even felt Jennifer rooting for her, and when that happens, you just have to hand it to the writers.  They’ve done their jobs well.  I’m really excited to see what else comes up on the campaign trail while Leslie and Ben, her “sexy elf king,” come up against Jennifer.

Back on the Parks and Rec front, Ron has to deal with Leslie’s absence because Leslie actually did the work of four people.  Chris wants to force Ron to either accomplish something, which disgusts Ron, or hire someone new, which also disgusts Ron.  What results is farce as the department tries to solve the water fountain problem that is plaguing Pawnee.  The joy of this storyline was actually all the physical elements to it.  Watching Andy and several other people full mouth kiss the water fountain was an amazing sight gag, and then when everything devolved into a water balloon fight.  Hilarious!  My favorite part was Andy yelling “Kamikaze” then slamming into Chris with a balloon bomb-vest on.  That was definitely my biggest laugh of the night.

Now, keep up the good work, Parks.  I’m depending on you to keep me going until March 15th when Community returns.

Parenthood:
Last week, I was behind on my TV viewing and Parenthood took one for the team.  I didn’t actually get to watch “Remember Me, I’m the One Who Loves You” until this Wednesday.  I then kicked myself because it was one of the best shows from last week and I’m sorry I didn’t get to write about it for that weekly review.  That said, I’m going to tackle both that episode and this week’s “My Brother’s Wedding” in the same review.  So, bear with me.

First off, I have a confession to make.  I do not watch Parenthood for all the characters equally.  In fact, if there were never any more episodes about Zeke, Drew, Max or even Hattie, I’m not sure I would miss them all that much.  I watch mainly for Sarah, Amber, Adam and Crosby.  But then, these past few episodes, Julia and Joel get amazing stories, and I can’t help but feel like I’ve been giving them short shrift for the past few seasons.

The writers of the show have never seemed to know what to do with Joel and Julia.  They seem like the outsiders of the family, too well adjusted to create the drama that the show is based on.  First season focused on the conflict of the working parent and stay at home parent, but then Joel (who, by the way, is my ideal man/husband) decided he liked staying at home, so the drama there was gone.  Next we got the trying to get pregnant phase in season two, but that just involved the couple having sex a lot, not so much full-fledged story lines.

And then we get to season three.  This season had a lot of cringe-worthy things about it with Julia propositioning her coffee girl for her baby and the ensuing conflict.  But I feel that once the writers figured out how Julia should deal with Zoe, I started to get on board with their story arc.

I probably should have known that things would not end well.  In fact, the writers left a lot of clues (messed up boyfriends, long painful glances from Zoe, ill-advised lamaze classes), but I was still stunned when Zoe decided to keep the baby.  The lead up to it was so detailed and well done (I mean, how amazing was that birth scene) that I felt just as devastated as Julia.  I truly cried when Julia breaks down in the empty hospital room.  I just broke my heart, and I would argue it’s one of the best scenes on this show. Ever. Period.

On this week’s episode, it was great to watch the way that Joel and Julia dealt with that loss.  Joel, who I would argue is the rock of the extended Braverman family, held strong and supported his wife (I mean, really, did I mention I want him to be my husband?) And Julia soldiered on, looking deeper into adoption.  I was surprised how quickly the writers had the adoption go through, given how long the process with Zoe lasted, but I’m excited to see where next season takes them.  I wasn’t really expecting an older child, but it should make for some good TV and finally some good drama for Joel and Julia to deal with.

As for the other stories, I, of course, was thrilled to see Crosby and Jasmine get married.  Everybody loves a TV wedding, and it really has been developing all season to this point.  I was also proud of Amber for having the courage to confront her boss and say that she just wants a job.  It was a very adult move on her part, and I like the way you can track the way she has matured since the beginning of the show.  She really is becoming a good woman.

I also want to address Sarah and Mark and their engagement. The writers have done a really job this season of making this relationship authentic. The problems that they have had haven’t been overly dramatic, but, I feel, ones that couples do go through. The way that these two have been figuring each other out made the end, where they chose to be with each other despite some tough decisions to come, all the more romantic and satisfying.

Finally, side note, I loved the direction of the episode this week (In fact, I looked up the director, who is Lawrence Trilling, and who I found out directed for Alias, Pushing Daisies, Felicity and Scrubs)  The shots of Sarah and Mark’s hands during the break-up scene, where Sarah reaches out but pulls back just as Mark reaches? Perfect.  And the big crane shots out of windows, once while Drew has sex (Congrats, Drew, I’m glad the show didn’t make a huge deal of this) and once at the end when Joel and Julia welcome their new child? Very nicely done, sir.

Oh, and Billy Riggins as best man was truly awesome!! Go Friday Night Lights alums!!

How I Met Your Mother:
I know I wrote about How I Met Your Mother last week, and probably I should give another show the spotlight, but whatever.  This show is on a hot streak, so I’ll praise it while I can.

Perhaps I was so affected by “Karma” because I found it very personal.  Not to get too reveal-y, but I’ve been feeling the need for change a lot recently for the same reasons as Ted: I feel encumbered by a place and I only feel by leaving it will I be able to move on. (Again, I’m a little worried that the writers are following me and writing down my life)

Change is always an element of TV shows; in fact, it’s probably the one constant among all shows.  But on How I Met Your Mother, Ted hasn’t really changed recently. He has been rather stagnent this season, and one could/should argue that it is holding him back as a character.  For the past few months, Ted hasn’t been the main character of the show; instead he’s been a sidekick in several stories, whether palling around with Marshall and Lily or bro-ing it up with Barney.  But for the most part, he has taken a backseat to Robin’s relationship/pregnancy woes, Marshall and Lily’s pregnancy/house problems or Barney’s women troubles.  The last time I can remember a plot specifically about Ted was the slutty pumpkin, and that was an attempt not to change, but rather to go back into the past.

If the writers planned this character arc, to have Ted hibernate for a few months only to have him transform now, then I am in awe of them.  If not, it doesn’t really matter because I love the way that Ted has come to this decision point, and I am very excited to see what happens: how his relationship with Robin changes, how the group reacts to the new Ted and ultimately how a new life leads to the mother. I think it will make for some very exciting TV.

Other things on this episode were funny but took second fiddle to Ted’s story for me.  I really enjoyed the way that Robin treated the Long Islanders like a Jane Goodall type, and the voiceover made for some very funny lines. Also, for Barney and Quinn (Karma), though I don’t really like that Barney’s fallen for a stripper, I thought it was a good scene at the end at coffee shop.  Nice banter and what-not.  Finally, the biggest laughs of the night for me were Ted’s various hobbies falling apart.  Every time a table collapsed or a mug leaked, I enjoyed a good belly laugh.

Finally, a question for the future: If Marshall and Lily move back into the apartment, does that mean the Ted moves to Long Island?  Or should we expect a new set? Or, quite possibly, will we see Ted trying to bunk with Barney? Should be interesting, no?

The Rest:

Cougar Town – Not my favorite of the week or of the show (I know, shocking, right?). My main dislike is manic/overprotective Jules who has always bugged me a bit (plus, I don’t know, but this week I really noticed Courtney Cox’s plastic surgery, so it was a little off-putting). I did like the running gag of not knowing Tom’s name, but Grayson’s storyline was by far the best. Men really should be treated like babies. Also, I actually liked the bittersweet ending, but that could be the music choice more than anything.

Smash – I wasn’t thrilled this week but I think that’s mainly because women fighting each other makes me uncomfortable (maybe that’s also why i didn’t love Bridesmaids as much as I should have).  Also, stunt casting is a turn-off and seeing a Jonas brother there was really distracting.  I do enjoy Karen’s the new entourage, though. Sassy gay friend, anyone?  Also, I really like the growing friendship with Debra Messing and Angelica Huston.  Hopefully the showrunners use this more.

Modern Family – The show actually had a watchable part this episode! I have to say, I was really digging the beginning where Phil realizes that all his women are on their periods at the same time. It was like horror movie and it was very well done.  Unfortunately, the writers didn’t seem to know where they were going and the story lost direction very quickly.  I can’t even remember how it was resolved, but I know it was lackluster.  The rest? Jay and Gloria were forgettable as usual, and Mitchell’s party has been done before, but at least I didn’t guess the carnival ending.

Happy Endings – Great as usual. The sex dreams were hilariously awkward, and Penny jonesing for sugar made for some great sight gags (pajoveralls, breakfast food falling from the ceiling).  Also, though I’m not a fan of stunt-casting, seeing Colin Hanks with an earring nearly made it worth it.  But let’s talk about the ending.  Anyone else worried about that big twist?  I am because I was never a big fan Dave and Alex, so I really don’t want to writers to go there.  But experience has proven that they know what they’re doing, so I’ll stick with them for now. Oh, and this episode had my favorite line of the week, so honorable mention is deserved here. Alex, in response to learning that animals react the same way to sugar as they do to cocaine, “Wow we really are losing the war on drugs if animals are blowing rails.”

The Office – A better showing this week (I noticed it was written by Mindy Kaling, so perhaps that attributed to the rise in quality) Jim’s speech was funny and Toby conducting a self-defense class was a nice callback to season one.  Also, I like Erin’s progression as a character. Andy’s story of being beaten up by a girl, however, is one of the stalest sitcom story lines out there. I mean, come on.  Been there, done that.  Still, the best part of the show was when Stanley pulled a piece of pizza out of his triangle bag.  I actually laughed out loud, which hasn’t happened in a while on this show.

Up All Night – A very funny half hour, the best part being the sight of Will Arnett in full leather.  I like the way this show plays with gender roles, and it was spot on this ep, with Chris struggling with his manhood and Reagan struggling with her “lady business”  Also, Eve Best is the best. Side note, I was watching this with friends and they pointed out something.  Where was the baby in the last act?  Chris rides his motorcycle to the office to defend Reagan, but where is little baby Amy?  Good question, right?

30 Rock – What can I say?  The running gag of Jenna and Tracy investigating and then flashing back to astonishingly bad scenes from Jenna’s unaired pilot was great. The rest of the stories weren’t so funny or impressive.  The past two 30 Rock eps have been great, so I’ll let a feebler one slide this week.

Justified – Like past seasons, these episodes in the middle are always the ones that are laying the groundwork for the almost surely awesome episodes near of the end of the season.  At the moment, however, I feel that it’s a lot of groundwork and not so much story, but I have faith that it’s all going to be worth it.  Plus, they really have a tall order to be as good as last year, so maybe my expectations are set a little too high. We’ll see.

Revenge – There’s a reason why this show is getting so much buzz.  It is legitimately entertaining.  I especially liked the beginning when everyone was getting interviewed and the focus was really out of wack.  A very nice touch from the director.  I am a little surprised that they already revealed that Takeda is the killer, but hopefully plays out well.  I’m definitely in for the rest of the season.

Suburgatory – I haven’t talked much about this show, mostly because it’s not much to talk about.  My main impression of this episode was that they didn’t seem to know how to end it.  I feel like there should have been more with the teacher, more of a reason why she like Dalia so much.  But maybe that’s just me.

Castle – After last week, I was worried that Castle was going to start taking itself too seriously, but this proves that that’s not the case.  A solid outing, but nothing to write home about.

Also, if you haven’t already, check out my review of Awake.  It’s worth reading (in my humble opinion) and the show is worth checking out.

Until next time,
Mary

Leave a comment