Favorite Music o’ the Week

This week was pretty light on good music.  Really, I’ve been getting most of my songs from the new season of Skins, but my plan is to wait until the end of this series and then post all my choices together for that show.  But back to this week.  Just two tracks really stood out to me.  I hope you enjoy them.

Benjamin Francis Leftwich “Pictures” – This was used at the end of Cougar Town, and I thought it captured the poignant mood of the episode.  Bill Lawrence, I think, doesn’t get enough credit for his music choices.  (I know I laud Scrubs a lot, but the music was awesome on that show).  Here he does it again, and it made me tear up a little when I heard it.

The Pines – “Heart and Bones” – I downloaded this song over a year ago when it was featured on an iTunes Indie Spotlight playlist.  And then I heard it this week on Parenthood.  Because it was so familiar to me, I thought Jason Katims was using a song from another show, but turns out I was wrong and Katims just has really good taste.  It was a great choice to play under Adam’s speech.

*********************************************************************************************************

Ok, now, since it was such a slim week, I want to make special mention of the music on House.  I stopped watching this season, but I’ve been finding songs used on the show, and, man, they have stepped up their game.  Sure, they’re a little adult acoustic-y, but I’m really digging them.

Ben Howard – “Promise”

Morgan Taylor Reid – “Simply Human”

Leave a comment